Tyrann Mathieu and Eric Reid represent the LSU secondary. (US Presswire)

The watch list has arrived in college football. The annual individual awards given at the end of the season will be rolling out their initial lists over the next couple weeks, and college football fans get their first round of debatable distinctions for 2012.

Unlike a lot of the awards given out in college football, the Bronco Nagurski Award is a lot more general. It's not an award for the best interior lineman, or the best linebacker or defensive back, it's an award for the best defensive player in the country. One that's voted on by the FWAA.

Now, there are a lot of defensive players in the country, which helps explain why there are 84 players on the Bronco Nagurski watch list for 2012, and here are every single one of them.

2012 Bronco Nagurski Award Watch List

Bronco Nagurski Watch List by conference
SEC - 19
Big Ten - 14
Big 12 - 13
ACC - 11
Pac-12 - 10
Big East - 4
C-USA - 3
Independents - 3
MAC - 3
Mountain West - 2
Sun Belt - 1
WAC - 1