After a rash of injuries in the final weeks of training camp, there weren’t many surprises when the Tennessee Titans’ released their final 53-man roster on Friday night.

Defensive tackle Zach Clayton, wide receiver Michael Preston and safety Aaron Francisco are among the Titans’ notable cuts. Defensive end Dave Ball was one of five players placed on IR. Ball had been sidelined with concussion-like symptoms for the majority of the preseason.

Notable cuts: DT Zach Clayton (2nd year, Auburn) -- Defensive assistant/pass rush specialist Keith Millard raved about Clayton’s tenacity and ability to use hands movements effectively. Clayton earned frequent reps with the first-team early in camp and exhibited his physicality with a sack against the Seahawks. The Titans may have been worried by a back injury that has limited Clayton over the last week. S Aaron Francisco (6th year, Brigham Young) -- Francisco appeared around the ball on a number of special teams plays throughout the preseason. At safety, Francisco demonstrated an ability to play in the box. The veteran was beaten out by Al Afalava, who came on strong in the final weeks. WR Michael Preston (1st year, Heidelberg) -- At 6-5, 206, Preston provided a nice combination of speed and size. If Kenny Britt received a longer suspension from the NFL, Preston may have made the team.

Complete cut list

WR Devin Aguilar (1st year, undrafted free agent 2012, Washington); TE Brandon Barden (1st year, undrafted free agent 2012, Vanderbilt), OL Kyle DeVan (4th year, undrafted free agent 2008, Oregon State); DT Lamar Divens (4th year, undrafted free agent 2008, Tennessee State); TE Cameron Graham (1st year, undrafted free agent 2011, Louisville); CB Chris Hawkins (2nd year, Louisiana State, OL Michael Jasper (1st year, 7th round 2011, Bethel); WR James Kirkendoll (1st year, undrafted free agent 2011, Texas); FB Collin Mooney (1st year, undrafted free agent 2012, Army); OL Chris Morris (6th year, 7th round 2006, Michigan State); DE Malcolm Sheppard (3rd year, undrafted free agent 2010, Arkansas); S Tracy Wilson (2nd year, undrafted free agent, Northern Illinois); WR D.J. Woods (1st year, undrafted free agent, Cincinnati).

Titans’ players placed on IR: DE Dave Ball (8th year, 4th round 2004, UCLA), DE Leger Douzable (4th year, undrafted free agent 2008, Central Florida), G Ryan Durand (2nd year, 7th round 2009, Syracuse), LB Kevin Malast (1st year, undrafted free agent 2009, Rutgers), CB Terrence Wheatley (3rd year, 2nd round 2008, Colorado).

For more up-to-the-minute news and analysis on the Tennessee Titans, follow Matt Rybaltowski @CBSSportsNFLTEN.