LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu was a Walter Camp Player of the Year finalist in 2011 (US Presswire)

Watch list has arrived in college football. The annual individual awards given at the end of the season will be rolling out their initial lists over the next couple weeks, and college football fans get their first round of debatable distinctions for 2012.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year is awarded annually to a player from the Walter Camp All-American team, and is the nation's fourth-oldest college football honor for an individual. Eleven players on the 2012 watch list have previously earned Walter Camp All-America honors, and LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu was a finalist for the award in 2011.

The 2012 watch list includes three returning semi-finalists from a year ago: Matt Barkley, Landry Jones, and Sammy Watkins. Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck was named the Player of the Year in an award ceremony in December.

Check out the full watch list below, and a breakdown by conference.

2012 Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

Barrett Jones, OL, Alabama
AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama
Knile Davis, RB, Arkansas
Tyler Wilson, QB, Arkansas
Ryan Aplin, QB, Arkansas State
Branden Oliver, RB, Buffalo
Keenan Allen, WR, Califorina
Tajh Boyd, QB, Clemson
Sammy Watkins, WR, Clemson
Sharif Floyd, DT, Florida
Brandon Jenkins, Florida State
Robbie Rouse, RB, Fresno State
Jarvis Jones, LB, Georgia
Aaron Murray, QB, Georgia
Charles Sims, RB, Houston
Arthur Brown, LB, Kansas State
Tyler Lockett, WR, Kansas State
Nigel Malone, DB, Kansas State
Tyrann Matthieu, DB, LSU
Joe Vellano, DL, Maryland
Denard Robinson, QB, Michigan
William Gholston, DE, Michigan State
James Franklin, QB, Missouri
David Amerson, DB, N.C. State
Rex Burkhead, RB, Nebraska
Tyler Eifert, TE, Notre Dame
Manti Te'o, LB, Notre Dame
Tony Jefferson, DB, Oklahoma
Landry Jones, QB, Oklahoma
Kenny Stills, WR, Oklahoma
Joseph Randle, RB, Oklahoma State
De'<player idref=, Wr, Oregon
Silas Redd, RB, Penn State
Ray Graham, RB, Pittsburgh
Zach Line, RB, SMU
Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Carolina
Marcus Lattimore, RB, South Carolina
Chase Thomas, LB, Stanford
Tyler Bray, QB, Tennessee
Alex Okafor, DE, Texas
Seth Doege, QB, Texas Tech
Matt Barkley, QB, USC
T.J. McDonald, DB, USC
Robert Woods, WR, USC
John White, RB, Utah
Logan Thomas, Qb, Virginia Tech
Tavon Austin, WR, West Virignia
Geno Smith, QB, West Virginia
Alex Carder, QB, Western Michigan
Montee Ball, RB, Wisconsin

2012 Walter Camp Watch List by Conference
SEC - 12
Big 12 - 11
Pac-12 - 7
ACC - 6
Big Ten - 5
Independent - 2
Conference USA - 2
MAC - 2
Sun Belt - 1
Big East - 1
Mountain West Conference - 1

Remember, names can be added and will be taken off these award lists as the season progresses. But still feel free to let us know your feelings on the list in the comment section below.

Keep up with the latest college football news from around the country. From the opening kick of the year all the way through the offseason, has you covered with thisdaily newsletter. View apreview.

Get College Football updates on Facebook