The preseason all-conference team was announced Wednesday. Only one player was a unanimous selection -- Clemson wide receiver and preseason player of the year Sammy Watkins. Here are some other observations:

  • The quarterback voting broke down like this (there were two unaccounted votes, but only the top four vote-getters were listed):
  1. Clemson’s Tajh Boyd (29)
  2. Tech" data-canon="Virginia Cavaliers" data-type="SPORTS_OBJECT_TEAM" id="shortcode0">’s Logan Thomas (16)
  3. Florida State’s E.J. Manuel (15)
  4. N.C. State’s Mike Glennon (6)
  • Virginia teammates Oday Aboushi (29 votes) and Morgan Moses (28) were separated by just a vote for the second offensive tackle spot.
  • Neither division favorite (Florida State and Virginia Tech) had a player selected to the team on offense.
  • Clemson had all four of its players selected on offense.
  • Here is breakdown by team:

Florida State, Clemson, North Carolina -- 4

Virginia Tech -- 3

Maryland, Virginia, N.C. State -- 2

Duke, Miami, Georgia Tech, Wake Forest -- 1

Boston College -- 0

Below is the full team with number of votes listed in parentheses.

2012 Atlantic Coast Conference Preseason Team                                 


WR Conner Vernon, Duke (41)

WR Sammy Watkins, Clemson (68)

TE Matt Furstenburg, Maryland (35)

T James Hurst, North Carolina (48)

T Oday Aboushi, Virginia (29)

G Omoregie Uzzi, Georgia Tech (57)

C Dalton Freeman, Clemson (58)

QB Tajh Boyd, Clemson (29)

RB Giovani Bernard, North Carolina (60)

RB Andre Ellington, Clemson (53)


DE Brandon Jenkins, Florida State (59)

DE James Gayle, Virginia Tech (31)

DT Joe Vellano, Maryland (58)

DT Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest (33)

LB Kevin Reddick, North Carolina (49)

LB Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech (42)

LB Steve Greer, Virginia (32)

CB David Amerson, NC State (63)

CB Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech (25)

S Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State (45)

S Earl Wolff, NC State (30)


PK Dustin Hopkins, Florida State (54)

P Dalton Botts, Miami (65)

SP Greg Reid, Florida State (35)

For more up-to-the-minute news and analysis from ACC bloggers Shawn Krest and Sean Bielawski, follow@CBSSportsACC