Mike Shanahan kept eight of nine 2012 draft picks on the Redskins' active roster.(AP Images)

The Redskins went with only four running backs, as most predicted when camp opened. But most didn’t include rookie Alfred Morris on that list.

And they went with seven receivers, one shy from a year ago when they considered Brandon Banks a return specialist and not a receiver. This year, he’s also a receiver. He likely made it with a strong final showing in the preseason. Dezmon Briscoe, who joined the team after camp opened, also made it as the final receiver.

Saturday morning after making their final cuts on Friday, eight of the Redskins’ nine draft picks made the 53-man roster. The one who didn’t, tackle Tom Compton, was signed to the practice squad. WR Darius Hanks (elbow) was designated reserved/injured.

QB (3) –- Robert Griffin III (rookie, first round, Baylor), Rex Grossman (10th year, Florida), Kirk Cousins (rookie, Michigan State)

RB (4) –- Evan Royster (2nd year, Penn State), Roy Helu (2nd year, Nebraska), Alfred Morris (rookie, Florida Atlantic), Darrel Young (3rd year, Villanova).

WR (7) –- Pierre Garcon (5th year, Mount Union), Santana Moss (12th year, Miami), Josh Morgan (5th year, Virginia Tech), Leonard Hankerson (2nd year, Miami), Aldrick Robinson (1st year, SMU), Brandon Banks (3rd year, Kansas State), Dezmon Briscoe (3rd season, Kansas).

TE (3) –- Fred Davis (5th year, USC), Logan Paulsen (3rd year, UCLA), Niles Paul (2nd year, Nebraska).

OL (9)Trent Williams (3rd year, Oklahoma), Kory Lichtensteiger (4th year, Bowling Green), Will Montgomery (7th year, Virginia Tech), Chris Chester (7th year, Oklahoma), Tyler Polumbus (4th year, Colorado), Maurice Hurt (2nd year, Florida), Josh LeRibeus (rookie, 3rd round, SMU), Adam Gettis (rookie, 5th round, Iowa), Jordan Black (7th season, Notre Dame).

DL (6) –- Adam Carriker (6th year, Nebraska), Barry Cofield (7th year, Northwestern), Stephen Bowen (7th year, Hofstra), Jarvis Jenkins (2nd year, Clemson), Kedric Golston (7th year, Georgia), Chris Baker (1st year, Hampton).

LB (8) –- Ryan Kerrigan (2nd year, Purdue), Perry Riley (3rd year, LSU), London Fletcher (15th year, John Carroll), Brian Orakpo (4th year, Texas), Lorenzo Alexander (6th year, Cal), Keenan Robinson (rookie, 4th round, Texas), Chris Wilson (5th year, Northwood).

DB (9) –- DeAngelo Hall (9th year, Virginia Tech), Josh Wilson (6th year, Maryland), Madieu Williams (9th year, Maryland), Brandon Meriweather (6th year, Miami), Reed Doughty (7th year, Northern Colorado), DeJon Gomes (2nd year, Nebraska), Richard Crawford (rookie, 7th round, SMU), Jordan Bernstine (rookie, 7th round, Iowa), Crezdon Butler (3rd year, Clemson).

Special Teams (3) –- Billy Cundiff (8th season, Drake), Nick Sundberg (3rd year, Cal), Sav Rocca (6th year, Lakeside).

PUP: Jammal Brown (hip).

John Keim covers the Redskins for the Washington Examiner. Follow him on Twitter @CBSSportsNFLWAS.