With the release of Curtis Painter, it appears that Tyrod Taylor will be the lone safety net in the event of a Joe Flacco injury(US Presswire)

In the end, the Ravens went with two quarterbacks.

There was an internal discussion as to whether the Ravens would keep three quarterbacks, so that Tyrod Taylor could have more of a role in various offensive packages this year.

But Baltimore went with two, releasing Curtis Painter on Friday. Painter started eight games for Indianapolis in 2011 but failed to record a win.

Three undrafted rookies made their way onto the roster this year after the Ravens made their final cuts on Friday -- WR Deonte Thompson, RB Bobby Rainey and K Justin Tucker, who had already beat out Billy Cundiff for the job this past Sunday. Thompson and Rainey combined for 302 receiving yards and four touchdowns this preseason.

QB (2) -- Joe Flacco (5th year, Delaware), Tyrod Taylor (2nd year, Virginia Tech)

RB (4) -- Ray Rice (5th year, Rutgers), Bernard Pierce (rookie, 3rd round, Temple), Bobby Rainey (rookie, undrafted, Western Kentucky), Vonta Leach (9th year, East Carolina).

WR (6) -- Anquan Boldin (10th year, Florida State), Torrey Smith (2nd year, Maryland), Jacoby Jones (6th year, Lane), LaQuan Williams (2nd year, Maryland), Tandon Doss (2nd year, Indiana), Deonte Thompson (rookie, undrafted, Florida).

TE (3) -- Ed Dickson (3rd year, Oregon), Dennis Pitta (3rd year, BYU), Billy Bajema (8th year, Oklahoma State).

OL (9) -- Michael Oher (4th year, Ole Miss), Marshal Yanda (6th year, Iowa), Matt Birk (15th year, Harvard), Bobbie Williams (13th year, Arkansas), Bryant McKinnie (11th year, Miami), Kelechi Osemele (rookie, 2nd round, Iowa State), Jah Reid (2nd year, Central Florida), Gino Gradkowski (rookie, 4th round, Delaware), Ramon Harewood (3rd year, Morehouse).

DL (7) -- Haloti Ngata (7th year, Oregon), Ma'ake Kemoeatu (10th year, Utah), Pernell McPhee (2nd year, Mississippi State), Terrence Cody (3rd year, Alabama), Arthur Jones (3rd year, Syracuse), Bryan Hall (2nd year, Arkansas State) DeAngelo Tyson (rookie, 7th round, Georgia).

LB (8) -- Ray Lewis (17th year, Miami), Jameel McClain (5th year, Syracuse), Paul Kruger (4th year, Utah), Albert McClellan (3rd year, Marshall), Courtney Upshaw (rookie, 2nd round, Alabama), Brendon Ayanbadejo (10th year, UCLA), Dannell Ellerbe (4th year, Georgia), Sergio Kindle (3rd year, 2nd round, Texas).

DB (11) -- Ed Reed (11th year, Miami), Bernard Pollard (7th year, Purdue), Lardarius Webb (4th year, Nicholls State), Cary Williams (5th year, Washburn), Jimmy Smith (2nd year, Colorado), Corey Graham (6th year, New Hampshire), Sean Considine (8th year, Iowa), Asa Jackson (rookie, 5h round, Cal Poly), Danny Gorrer (3rd year, Texas A&M), Christian Thompson (rookie, 4th round, South Carolina State), Chykie Brown (2nd year, Texas).

Specialists (3) -- Justin Tucker (rookie, undrafted, Texas), Sam Koch (7th year, Nebraska), Morgan Cox (3rd year, Tennessee).

PUP: Terrell Suggs (Achilles), David Reed (ACL).

IR: Michael McAdoo (Achilles), Emanuel Cook (leg), Stevie Baggs (leg), Darryl Blackstock (leg), Ryan McBean (ankle), Matt Balasavage (ankle), Damien Berry (neck/shoulder), Justin Boren (foot), Ricky Brown (head), Bruce Figgins (shoulder), Tommy Streeter (foot).

Follow Ravens reporter Jason Butt on Twitter: @CBSSportsNFLBAL and @JasonButtCBS.