Broncos QB Peyton Manning will make his 12th Pro Bowl appearance. (US Presswire)

None of the Broncos selected to the 2013 Pro Bowl were a surprise.

QB Peyton Manning led all players in fan balloting with 993,045 votes and has had a season that is the second-best of his career from a statistical perspective. LT Ryan Clady will go for a third time in the last four years after allowing just one sack this year. DE Elvis Dumervil has double-digit sacks, LB Von Miller has broken the Broncos' single-season sack record and CB Champ Bailey remains one of the best shutdown cornerbacks in the game.

But the Broncos were disappointed by the absence of WR Demaryius Thomas, who fell short of being among the four AFC wide receivers in spite of ranking fourth in receiving yardage and touchdowns, as well as being first in the conference in average per reception.

Thomas is a first alternate for the Pro Bowl. Other Broncos alternates include RG Chris Kuper, WR Eric Decker, LG Zane Beadles, ST David Bruton and P Britton Colquitt. Kuper was an alternate in spite of starting just five games because of ankle and forearm injuries; Beadles became an alternate after allowing just one sack this year.

LB Wesley Woodyard didn't even earn notice as an alternate in spite of leading the Broncos in tackles with 110. Woodyard is the only player in the NFL with at least 60 tackles, five sacks and three interceptions.

Full Pro Bowl rosters

For up-to-the-minute Broncos updates, follow Andrew Mason on Twitter at @CBSBroncos.