There were quite a few surprises on cut-down day for the Bills. DT Dwan Edwards, once seen as a building block in the team's switch to the 3-4, was an early release. The team elected to keep just five WRs -- including QB/WR Brad Smith -- by releasing Derek Hagan. Hagan was among the top four WRs throughout training camp.

Buffalo’s situation at QB will continue to be worth monitoring. At the moment, the Bills have four QBs on the roster -- Ryan Fitzpatrick, Tarvaris Jackson, Tyler Thigpen and Smith. Buffalo just traded for Jackson earlier in the week, and he doesn’t know the offense yet, so Thigpen has a job for now.

The Bills decided to keep K John Potter as a kickoff specialist. Potter was tremendous on kickoffs in the postseason, forcing touchbacks with nearly every attempt.

Notable cuts: DT Dwan Edwards (9th year, Oregon State) -- He never lived up to expectations after signing a four-year, $18 million contract with the team in 2010. He started 24 games over the past two seasons, collecting 109 tackles and 3.5 sacks. He was viewed as a candidate to be released ever since the team made the switch in spring workouts to the 4-3 under new defensive coordinator Dave Wannstedt. But he had a decent camp as the team's fourth DT, giving himself a shot of sticking around. His base salary this season -- $4.1 million -- likely sealed his fate. LB Tank Carder (rookie, TCU) -- Carder announced on his Twitter account that he had been released. The former Rose Bowl defensive MVP showed good instincts during his first NFL training camp, but it apparently wasn't enough. WR Derek Hagan (6th year, Arizona State) -- Hagan appeared to have a job all locked up following an impressive offseason, but his performances tailed off as the preseason progressed. Still, it’s a surprise that the Bills only kept four true WRs.

Complete cut list

DT Dwan Edwards (9th year, 2nd round in 2004 draft, Oregon State); LB Tank Carder (rookie, 5th round, TCU); WR Kamar Aiken (1st year, undrafted, Central Florida); OL Mark Asper (rookie, 6th round, Oregon); TE Kevin Brock (1st year, undrafted, Rutgers); RB Zach Brown (rookie, undrafted, Pittsburgh); OL James Carmon (rookie, undrafted, Mississippi State); WR Marcus Easley (1st year, 4th round in 2010, Connecticut); DE Robert Eddins (1st year, undrafted, Ball State); DT Jarron Gilbert (2nd year, 3rd round pick in 2009, San Jose State); DB Isaiah Green (rookie, undrafted, Fresno State), WR Derek Hagan (7th year, 3rd round pick in 2006, Arizona State); DT Kellen Heard (2nd year, undrafted, Memphis); WR Ruvell Martin (7th year, undrafted, Sagniaw Valley State); LB Scott McKillop (2nd year, 5th round pick in 2009, Pittsburgh); P Shawn Powell (rookie, undrafted, Florida State); WR Naaman Roosevelt (3rd year, undrafted, Buffalo); DB Nick Saenz (rookie, undrafted, Houston); OL David Snow (rookie, undrafted, Texas); RB Johnny White (2nd year, 5th round pick in 2011, North Carolina); OL Keith Williams (1st year, undrafted, Nebraska).

Other moves: Injured reserve -- OL Zebrie Sanders (rookie, 5th round, Florida State).

For more updates on the Bills follow correspondent Mark Ludwiczak on Twitter @CBSSportsNFLBUF and@MarkLud12.