CB Coye Francies, a fourth-year pro out of San Jose State, had a one-game tryout Saturday night at Seattle with the Raiders. He fumbled a kickoff, but he did enough good work on defense and other special teams to win a spot on the final roster after the Raiders made their final cuts on Friday.

CB/return man Bryan McCann made a late surge to make the team, too -- thanks in part to Roscoe Parrish, who fumbled two punts in his Raiders debut and was quickly waived.

The most surprising survivor has to be OG Lucas Nix, an undrafted rookie from Pittsburgh. But DT Jamie Cumbie, a member of last year’s practice squad, was also a camp surprise, earning a spot on the team.

The Raiders kept 11 defensive backs, but that number is bound to be cut as they scan the waiver wire and juggle their roster before their Sept. 10 opener against San Diego.

The Raiders made 22 moves Friday, trimming their roster to 53 by the 6 p.m. PDT deadline.

QB (3) -- Carson Palmer (10th year, USC), Matt Leinart (7th year, USC), Terrelle Pryor (2nd year, Ohio State).

RB (3) -- Darren McFadden (5th year, Arkansas), Taiwan Jones (2nd year, Eastern Washington), Mike Goodson (4th year, Texas A&M);    

FB  (2) -- Marcel Reece (3rd year, Washington), Owen Schmitt (5th year, West Virginia)

WR (5) -- Darrius Heyward-Bey (4th year, Maryland), Denarius Moore (2nd year, Tennessee), Jacoby Ford (3rd year, Clemson), Rod Streater (R, undrafted, Temple), Juron Criner (R, 5th round, Arizona).

TE (3) -- Brandon Myers (4th year, Iowa), Richard Gordon (2nd year, Miami), David Ausberry (2nd year, USC).

OL (9) -- Jared Veldheer (3rd year, Hillsdale), Khalif Barnes (8th year, Washington), Mike Brisiel (5th year, Colorado State), Cooper Carlisle (13th year, Flordia), Stefen Wisniewski (2nd year, Penn State), Joe Barksdale (2nd year, LSU), Tony Bergstrom (R, 3rd round, Utah), Alex Parsons (1st year, USC); OG Lucas Nix (R, undrafted, Pittsburgh).

DL (9) -- Richard Seymour (12th year, Georgia), Tommy Kelly (9th year, Mississippi State), Matt Shaughnessy (4th year, Wisconsin), Lamarr Houston (3rd year, Texas), Dave Tollefson (6th year, Northwest Missouri State), Desmond Bryant (4th year, Harvard), Jack Crawford (R, 5th round, Penn State), Christo Bilukidi (R, 6th round, Georgia State), Jamie Cumbie (1st year, Clemson).

LBs (5) -- Rolando McClain (3rd year, Alabama), Philip Wheeler (5th year, Georgia Tech), Miles Burris (R, 4th round,  San Diego State), Travis Goethel (3rd year, Arizona State), Carl Ihenacho (1st year, San Jose State).

DB (11) -- Ron Bartell (8th year, Howard), Shawntae Spencer (9th year, Pittsburgh), Michael Huff (7thyear, Texas), Tyvon Branch (5th year, Connecticut), Matt Giordano (8th year, California), DeMarcus Van Dyke (2nd year, Miami), Mike Mitchell (4th year, Ohio), Pat Lee (5th year, Auburn), Chimdi Chekwa (2ndyear, Ohio State); Coye Francies (4th year, San Jose State), Bryan McCann (3rd year, SMU).

Special teams (3) -- K Sebastian Janikowski (13th year, Florida State), P Shane Lechler (13th year, Texas A&M), LS Jon Condo (6th year, Maryland).

Follow Raiders reporter Eric Gilmore on Twitter: @CBSSportsNFLOAK.